New Toy

After my kit lens for my Rebel bit the dust last January, I spent hours and hours trying to decide what to replace it with. What I really wanted was the Tamron 18-200mm lens that I have been lusting after for the past 5 years or so. But my frugal side said just buy a used kit lens, and my anxious side said I needed to have the kit lens because it was what I knew (even though I am well aware that the kit lens is less than great, it’s just all I’ve ever had). This was the mindset I walked into National Camera Exchange with. What I walked out with was a brand new Tamron 18-200mm lens.And lets just say I am in love. This lens is going to make shooting with my big camera a whole new experience and I am already having so much fun playing with it. It ended up costing just a little bit more than the used kit lens after the mail in rebates, but was brand new, with a 6 year warranty, and has opened up a whole new world to my camera while easily covering everything the kit lens could do.Now of course after talking to the sales guy though I realize what I really need next is a 50mm fixed lens. Good thing I have a birthday and Christmas coming up! 😉

Leave a comment