Photo Canvases…Check

While my home decorating list seems to just keep getting longer, I have managed to start checking projects off. I decided to tackle the photo canvases I wanted to make for the master bedroom first since they would be a quick and easy project.I won’t go into a full tutorial here since the internet is already filled with great info that is far better than I could ever do. So I’ll just give you the basics in case you’re interested. Paint the sides and edges of your canvas. After it’s dry, paint canvas and the back of your photo (trimmed slightly smaller than your canvas) with mod podge and adhere. Smooth the photo on from the front as well as the back of the canvas. Coat top of picture with a coat or two of mod podge (this step is optional, I did it because I like the way the brush marks over the top make it look more “artsy”). After the mod podge is dry, dry brush around the edges with black paint. That’s all there is to it! Pretty easy project, although I will say it took some work to get the edges really black. I ended up using a sponge brush and sponging it on super thick.I used the pictures that were already hanging in the bedroom, replacing two framed pictures with the three canvases, adding the picture that was on the opposite wall over my dresser. To replace that picture I printed out lyrics from the song “Marry Me” by Train and put them on scrapbook paper.I love the way the yellow scrapbook paper gives a nice little pop of color. It was a super easy project, took me about 15 minutes, but it’s a fun change up to the room. So there you have it, a fun little crafty freshening up of our bedroom. It’s certainly not a huge change but it’s nice to have something new to look at on the walls sometimes!

One thought on “Photo Canvases…Check

Leave a Reply

