Office Inspiration

After pestering Justin for over a year about wanting to redo our office he has finally relented agreed. He spends a lot of time in there for work and has been starting to feel a bit couped up in there so that has certainly helped my case. Whatever the motivation for the change, I am ecstatic for the chance to redecorate a room! It’s been a couple years now since I finished painting and decorating our house so there really hasn’t been any room for me to get creative in here for awhile. I’ve really missed it! The office has never been great though so I am excited to let my creativity run wild in there.

Over the last year I’ve started reading several DIY house renovating blogs which have taught me a lot and given me all kinds of ideas that I’ve been wanting to try out. It’s also probably given me way too much confidence as far as building goes but that’s what we have dads for, right? My favorite DIY blog is Young House Love and is actually the source for my office inspiration. I love the desk they built in their office and the plan is to replicate it to the best of our abilities. Lots of good stuff going on in this room that I plan to use for inspiration. First up, the desk. They found used cabinets at the Habitat for Humanity Restore and refinished them. I’m hoping that I have half the luck they had with their find ($1 a cabinet!!!). They added a few inches to the tops of the cabinets to get the height they needed, then made the desktop out of framing lumber. I haven’t quite decided on the desktop quite yet. I love theirs and that is my first pick but it is a lot of work. The other option I’m considering is purchasing two pine desktops from Ikea and staining them darker. Either one will be nice, just depends on how much we want to tackle. I do like the idea of using the same lumber as the desktop to build a small bookcase for the opposite wall and it would be cheaper to go the full on diy route so we’ll see how it goes. It also depends how much our dads/friends with saws and tools want to help us out πŸ˜‰ We have pretty good dads and friends though so I don’t foresee much of a problem in that department.

I also really like the pop of color provided by the green chairs and am thinking of bringing that into the room with some new curtains. I’m in love with these guys from Target.I want to paint the walls a light grey which would look awesome with these curtains!

I plan on making a magnet board to go over Justin’s side of the desk for all of his papers that currently reside on a bulletin board. I really like this one I found on Pinterest.It’s made with magnetic metal, a radiator cover and a thrifted frame. How cool is that? For my side of the desk I plan on hanging a wire with clips that I can hang my scrapbooking layouts from. Let my scrappy work double as home decor! I also want to get a couple of the rails from Ikea and hang the utensil cups and baskets from them to hold my glue, pens, etc.

On the opposite wall from the desk I plan on creating a mini-wall of short bookcases, either store bought or built. Ideally I’d like them to match the desktop but if that turns out to be too difficult I’ll go with white which will match the cabinets under the desk. I’m not sure yet what I want to hang over them but I’ve got lots of different ideas. Here are a few of the things I’m thinking of from Pinterest.I love this idea; a map cut from cork glued onto plywood with pins that say “want to visit,” “was here,” etc (although mine would say “I want to go to there” because I’m obsessed with Liz Lemon). Super cute and kind of motivating for an office where you make the big bucks to pay to visit all the places πŸ˜‰ There are all kinds of variations of this that would be possible as well. Maybe purchase a map and put it over cork and frame it… I think it would be cute to frame a quote on each side of it too,quotes that relate to life/work/travel.I love this mixed media canvas and it’s art that I feel like I actually might be able to conquer. I also like the two birds, it’s like Justin and I πŸ˜‰ I would make mine with book pages though, what with me being a bookworm and all. If I did this one though I think I would break it up over three smaller canvases like this oneI’m sure this part of the project is bound to change a million times until I actually just make something. There are just so many fun possibilities! I’m also going to make some fun stuff to decorate the shelves with. I’m hoping to find some treasures to repurpose at the thrift stores (I’m seeing lots of thrift store trips in my future…). For sure I want to find some animals to spray paint. They’ve done this on Young House Love and I just adore them but I’ve never had a home for them.Basically I just want to find a bunch of stuff to spray paint I guess.

We’d like to change the light fixture in the room as well. Right now we have the traditional boob light which is fine but not exactly special. I like this one from Ikea.Justin really likes soft light in the office so this would be perfect. I might need to find a lamp to provide better lighting for me when I scrapbook though. Justin currently has a paper lantern lamp on his desk so maybe another one of those for the desk and then something that I can pull out for scrapping when it’s dark in there???

Last but not least we’re going to need to do something about the chair situation. Currently we have a blue chair and a black chair. Not a great look. Ideally I think I’d just like to find a new black chair that looks similar to our current black chair. It’s comfortable and really what we need for office sitting. But I’m also thinking I would like to find a cute chair to repurpose to put in the corner. Something that would be comfortable to read a book in if one of us wanted to hang out there while the other worked. This one is definitely not a need but should the opportunity present itself, I’ll have my eyes open.

So that’s the plan as of now. I’m sure it’s bound to change a million times but I am having lots of fun making plans and can’t wait to get started! It’s going to be a long process and a lot of work but reading all the diy blogs has taught me to have patience with these kinds of projects, a lesson I seriously needed. Thrift stores look out! I’m a comin’!

Leave a Reply

