Printing iPhone Pictures

I’ve been asked several times over the last few months how I print my iPhone pictures so I thought the best thing to do would be to write a post describing my method. Bear with me as I’m not much of a teacher, but I’ll do my best.

I use Photoshop Elements for my editing software and I have an Epson photo printer (the R260) that I’ve had for about 4 years now that I am still very happy with. My one complaint is that the ink is very expensive and generic ink doesn’t work so there’s no way around the cost. The ink does seem to last quite a while though and I’m pretty sure that a printer with cheaper ink wouldn’t last quite as long so it all probably equals out in the end. That’s what I tell myself when I have to make a major purchase each time I run out of ink anyways… I did notice that Staples offers $2 back per used ink cartridge which adds up when you need to buy 6 ink cartridges so I think I’ll be going there from now on! I learned my lesson the hard way buying cheaper “genuine Epson Ink” on Amazon so be very careful if you consider doing the same. The photo paper I bought on Amazon seems to be pretty good though.

Alright, on to the nitty gritty details. Once in Photoshop, I open a blank document the size of the photo paper I plan to print on. My preferred size is 8.5×11 but if I don’t have enough pictures for it I will do a smaller size. I like to keep a package of 4×6 paper on hand and I also save the leftovers when I print a page but don’t fill it up. Always make sure the resolution is set to 300 inches/pixel. Those little scraps are nice to have when I just want to print one or two small pictures.

Next up I open all of the pictures that I want to print. For my Smash book, I typically print 2×2 or 2×3. If it’s a more “important” picture I’ll make it 3×3. For my scrapbook I print in a variety of sizes but rarely anything bigger than 4×6. To change the size of the pictures you go to Image>Resize>Image Resize (or shortcut ctrl+alt+I). Make sure it’s on inches and that Constrain Proportions and Resample Image are checked. Enter either your width or height and the other will change accordingly. Then change the resolution to 300 (pixels/inch).

Next you want to select the image (ctrl+a) and then copy (ctrl+c). Double click on you blank page and paste (ctrl+v). I like to add several pictures to get the most of my paper so I will resize, copy and then paste several and then move them into place.For those of you who don’t have a photo printer at home, I have heard wonderful things about the PostalPix app that allows you to send pictures off to print straight from your phone. Another option would be to use the same method I use, save the image as a jpeg file and send it off to an online printing service. I personally like to use Walmart, Snapfish or Shutterfly. The most cost effective way to use these services for smaller pictures would be to put them on a 4×6 canvas. You could do 6 2x2s or 2 3x3s which wouldn’t be too pricey at all with their prices!

I hope this helps any of you who were asking for the information! I’m sure there are much better tutorials out there but I thought I’d give it a whirl since so many of you have asked 🙂

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Printing iPhone Pictures

Leave a Reply

