A Beautiful Ending

Let’s start with a fun fact. This is the church (and school) that my mother attended as a child. Parts of it remain completely unchanged since my mom was a child which makes it a little like stepping into a time capsule. These are the kinds of things that I love. Must be the history lover in me.

It is also the church where my grandma’s funeral was held on Tuesday. It was one of the nicest funerals I’ve ever attended, and I have been to more than my fair share. The eulogies that my mom, aunt and uncle gave were beautiful, filled with great memories and love. At the end of my uncle’s eulogy he played a recording of my grandma singing with her band as a young woman. It was easily the coolest thing I’ve ever experienced at a funeral. To hear her beautiful voice as we were gathered together to celebrate her life was simply awesome. I was also so moved by the way that my family and the priest addressed her history of mental illness. She was a victim of postpartum depression at a time when no one understood it, which meant none of the therapies we have for new moms today were available to her. They did such a wonderful job of talking about what a struggle it was for her, but more importantly what an incredible survivor she was through it all. Her story, and my grandparents marriage, is such an inspiration to me and I was so happy to hear them celebrate that.

It is never easy to lose a loved one, but at the end of the day you can’t ask for a better ending than this. A chance to say goodbye to all of the people you love and a beautiful funeral filled with good memories and love after you’ve gone. It was a beautiful ending to a beautiful life.

One thought on “A Beautiful Ending

  1. Sounds like it was indeed a beautiful celebration of your grandma’s life. How awesome that your uncle played a song that she sang. I’m sorry for your loss Jackie, but so glad that you were able to send her off into the promise land on such a beautiful note!

Leave a Reply

