Good Medicine

It was a weekend of good friends and good food, just what the doctor ordered for my serious case of cabin fever. Friday we went out with some friends that we haven’t seen in far too long. We ate way too much at Mad Jacks, then headed to Grand Avenue for a bit. And since we parked right by Cafe Latte we thought it was only right that we stop in and have a dessert. I love this place. I don’t have any idea why we don’t go there more often but I am determined to change that.Especially after eating this. Easily the best cheesecake I’ve ever had. It was divine. That’s all I can say.

Saturday morning we woke up and it felt like we had flown overnight to another part of the country. Upper 60s and sunny was a major improvement over the mid 20s and cloudy we had enjoyed on Friday. Needless to say we all enjoyed the weather immensely.Justin took me to the International Market for lunch. He’s been there a bunch of times for work lunches and had been wanting to share it with me.Such a fun place to visit, and once again I felt like I had traveled far away from Minnesota. Not the worst feeling in March 😉We had the most delicious meal there at a little Mexican restaurant. If you are unable to get on a plane and fly somewhere tropical, eating a meal like this is the next best thing.

We spent our evening wandering around the mall for a little bit before we headed to the movie theater to see Friends with Kids (good but not as good as I had hoped it would be). It was a great day, only slightly diminished by the fact that I poured coke all over myself right before the movie started. It was a cold, wet, sticky movie.

Sunday we visited some friends of ours who used to be our neighbors but recently moved out of the ‘hood 😦 We miss them dearly! It was great to see their new place though and they have a great yard which was perfect for the inaugural game of bean bags for the year.Oh the boys were so happy! And us ladies were so happy to be sitting out in the sun. We finished up the night with yet another great meal with lots of  delicious summer food. I forget how much I love beans and potato salad…

It was a great weekend and my heart and stomach are both very happy. A weekend like that is definitely good medicine.

One thought on “Good Medicine

Leave a Reply

