Updated

First up, a PNH update. It’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything about PNH because there really hasn’t been anything to say. My counts have been stable for the last couple months, something that I haven’t been able to say for over a year. They are low but they are stable and no longer creeping down so we will take it! My body is so adjusted to these levels that it just feels normal to me. I don’t get sick often, I don’t bruise a ton in spite of super low platelets and an incredible knack for running into things, and I don’t feel like my anemia causes me much trouble. I get tired and achy sometimes but it’s very manageable, especially since I have a super husband who takes excellent care of me whenever I need it ๐Ÿ™‚ So in the world of PNH, it’s all good in the hood.

In the realm of life without kids, things have been pretty good there too. I’m feeling pretty good about taking all the pressure off, letting go of the feeling that it’s all or nothing right now. Justin and I are really looking forward to trips we are hoping to take over the next year or so which is obviously something that wouldn’t be possible with a baby. Things are good now just the two of us without the stress that surrounds the decisions required to make it three. We talk about adopting every once and awhile and it is definitely something that we are considering, whether it be domestic or foster, but it is not something that we are feeling the drive to do any time soon. For now, it’s just the two of us and I honestly couldn’t be happier with that. This might be a good time to mention that Justin’s company just announced that the President’s Club (top 10% reps) for next year is Sydney Australia so I’m planning on a trip down under next March ๐Ÿ˜‰ We are in it to win it!

Next up, a crochet update. I have to say I am pretty proud of myself for learning to crochet. I’m really enjoying it, it’s just so relaxing, and I’ve been able to make some really fun stuff. I’m also teaching a friend to do it so we can have some old fashioned knitting circles (obviously we’ll be crocheting not knitting, but knitting circle sounds vintage and we all know vintage is better…). I’ve made some infinity scarfs for gifts.I used this pattern and I am so happy with how they turned out. They came together really quickly, were super easy (even for a beginner like me) and they look fabulous and comfy cozy. Definitely fun to give as a gift! Last night I crocheted this little heart garland to use on a Valentine’s Day scrapbook page.I’m not gonna lie, this baby took me forever to make. But it was the perfect project to curl up on the couch with while Justin watched a scary movie (he loves them, I have nightmares). This is what I’m really loving about crocheting. It’s a relaxing creative hobby that I can do while still hanging out with people, and it doesn’t hurt that I can be comfy on the couch while working on it either.

Operation Welcome Justin Home last Friday was a success. The beef stew was delicious (or so I’m told) and he was hungry upon arrival so it was perfect! I also made some chocolate chip cookies that, if I do say so myself, are fantastical. I learned a new trick in my Food Network magazine to get the perfect cookie, browned on the outside, soft in the middle. You cook the cookies for 8 minutes at 425 degrees, then take them out and let them sit on the pan for 10 minutes. Every single one of my cookies turned out perfect, I highly recommend this technique!

A little Smash book update for those of you interested. I busted out the stamps yesterday and made some fun journaling cards. I actually used these little alpha stamps I found in Michaels dollar spot a couple years ago but never even took out of the package. Turns out I love them!I made these to go in the calendar pockets that I put in my book at the beginning of each month.I also made a few journaling cards with some other stamps I have. I don’t stamp a ton but it really is perfect for these kinds of things and I want to try to do more of it.Cute, right?

Today was the 12th, and if any of you are keeping track, that means it was Take 12/12 of 12 day (take 12 pictures on the 12th of each month). We went on a family outing with my mom and her hubby to the MN History Center so taking 12 pictures was no problem. There may have been a few more than 12… Hold on to your seats kids, I’ll be back with those tomorrow!

I mentioned in my last post that my uncle has been in and out of the hospital. He is now back in the hospital at Mayo because the ulcer is bleeding again. Things aren’t looking great so we are praying around the clock for him and for the doctors that are working on him.

Well, there you have it. You are officially updated. Hope you had a great weekend!

3 thoughts on “Updated

  1. I cannot let another week go by without practicing my new skills! We might need a little refresher session when I get there tomorrow. I’ve completely forgotten everything!

  2. I’m so glad to hear that things are great in your world. SOrry I’ve been out of the loop a bit being in touch and such. You are getting really awesome at crocheting! I absolutely LOVE scarves!!! And the pages and stamping that you’ve created has once again inspired me. I have tons of stamps from my card making and haven’t even begun to pull them out for my smash book…duh!

    • I’m horrible about remembering that I can use my stamps. They’re so fun but I just seem to forget about them all the time. Gotta work on that…

Leave a Reply

