This Week

* Justin comes home from his sales meeting in Las Vegas tonight so I’m spending the day getting the house nice and clean and making him beef stew as a surprise. I made 8 days of valentines for him, some of them including coupons good for meal of his choice, etc. I snuck days 1-4 in his backpack so he could open them each day he was away and today’s says good for one pot of beef stew ready tomorrow. It’ll be a nice surprise for him to walk in the house and see it ready to eat tonight. At least I hope so! I’ve never made it before because I don’t like it myself so I hope it turns out!* I’ve come to the realization that I have a major multi-tasking problem. As in I’m checking out songs on iTunes on my iPad, editing pics on my phone and uploading stuff on my computer. All at the same time. I might have a problem. It gets even worse when J’s out of town and I have multiple projects half finished all over the house. The term scatter brained comes to mind.

* Once again, One Tree Hill has brought amazing music to my life. This song in particular this week

* I spent Wednesday on a sister date to visit Como Zoo. It was fantastical. Afterwards we visited my other sister at her apartment. The whole sister crew hanging out. Good times.April’s not big on actually smiling in pictures, no matter how much I yell at her…The emperor tamarins are definitely one of my favorites at Como! They are so darn cute!

* I have serious sleep issues. As in, I lay awake for hours trying to sleep most nights. It sucks. But Wednesday was a new low for me. I fell asleep at 7. AM. The word frustrating does not even begin to do justice to the feeling of laying in bed all night trying to sleep. So I came home on a mission last night. I took an Ambien (I try not to take them, and when I do it’s always after I’ve already tried sleeping and failed), got ready for bed, then watched Grey’s before heading to bed. I slept like a baby and woke up at 9:30 bright eyed and bushy tailed. It was incredible. So much so that I felt the need to blog about it. Pretty big deal in my world.

* My uncle, who just lost his wife a few weeks ago, has been in the hospital this week. He’s had cancer since last spring but this was something new and took awhile to figure out what was actually wrong. It’s been stressful and we’ve all been praying lots for him. The doctors figured out it’s an ulcer but the prognosis is still a bit unclear so we continue to pray and hope for the best.

* A new smashbook page with pictures of the icy morning we had last Saturday, my dad’s “birthday party,” a pic of Maggie and a verse I read this week and really loved (Isaiah 43:2). The other page has my calendar pocket for Feb. I plan on printing out this blog post that I read yesterday and slipping it in there since it really spoke to me. This:

What part of my struggle did she not get?  I considered my choices. I could indulge in a range of emotions popping like hot kernels in my consciousness, or I could load them onto tiny boats in a cosmic river, and watch them slip away. I chose that, and relaxed into a Christian form of meditation, called Centering Prayer. With a deep, cleansing breath, I secretly called on the Lord for what I needed and then…just…let…go…to focus on a prayer word.

really hit home for me since it is something that I have been consciously working on lately, not necessarily about childlessness but just everything in my life. There have been a lot of stressful things going on in my personal life that have been getting me down. I’ve realized that I really need to stop and turn it all over to God, that when the anger/frustration/anxiety/fear rises up, the best response is to let it go and pray for peace. So the blog post came at the perfect time. And this is one of the things I really love about my Smash Book, it’s a home for all these random things.

*One last page for my December Daily book with the pictures from our belated Christmas trip to Milwaukee.

*A rare 8.5×11 scrapbook page. I don’t do a lot this size but every once and awhile it’s nice to change it up. I used a tutorial on Pinterest to make the chevron pattern behind the picture (I tried to link it but it’s not working right now… Basically you cut squares in half then line up the triangles to make the pattern) . Super cool technique that I will definitely be using again.

* This brings me to the end of my super random post. I’m trying to include more of the little things and “stories” on here, adding “journal” to this blog’s credentials, so things may start getting a little more random. Thanks for visiting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

