Life as a Trendsetter

I am nothing if not trendy. Well, actually that’s completely untrue. Let’s just say my first pair of skinny jeans came three years after they appeared in mainstream fashion and they continue to be my only pair. But in the scrapbooking world, I’m a little more on top of my game. So I was pretty excited to see a scrapbooking company releasing embroidered flowers in their winter release (this week is CHA where all the scrapbook companies release their new lines for the next 6 months) since I’ve been making my own like crazy around here. I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that mine are cuter… That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it. I can guarantee you mine are a whole lot cheaper at least!Yes, I think it would be fair to call me a major trendsetter. Maybe… Ok, probably not but I am pretty proud of myself for being a little ahead of the game on these. They’re just so fun and cute! And now that I’ve realized I can use embroidery thread to make them, which I’m already obsessed with anyways, I may have an addiction to deal with. I believe a Joann’s shopping trip in the near future will involve me coming home with piles of embroidery thread. Just sayin’.

Speaking of addictions, I’ve making washi tape by the bag full as well. For those of you not obsessed with into scrapbooking, washi tape is Japanese masking tape and it comes in all kinds of fun and colorful patterns. It is also insanely expensive. So I bought myself a giant role of double sided tape on ebay for four bucks and have been sticking it to everything.Tissue paper, tracing paper with digital patterned papers printed on it, tracing paper with stamps, vellum, old book pages… Nothing is safe in my scraproom right now. Nothing. Now, washi tape is certainly not new this season but it is coming out in a very big way this week with pretty much every company releasing rolls of it. So once again, I’m a smidgen ahead of the pack. Ummmm…. Maybe??? Well, at least I’m ahead of the curve on saving money. Win!

And just in case I haven’t totally convinced you of my trendsetter status, I leave you with this link where my layout was featured as the Inspiration du Jour. Yep, trendsetter. I’m tellin’ ya.

4 thoughts on “Life as a Trendsetter

  1. Trendsetter indeed! Congrats on being featured too πŸ™‚ I’m gonna go pin you now so 1) I can doop your pages and 2) so I can follow your trendy ways πŸ™‚

  2. Question about your tape…do you cut the paper before sticking it on? Stupid question, I know. I’m just terrible with tape and am afraid I’ll paste it all crooked…

    • It’s not a stupid question at all! My stuff is always getting crooked and it drives me CRAZY! I usually cut the tape first cause it’s a little easier to keep it straight. It still manages to go off course pretty frequently though. Lol!

Leave a Reply

