Bookworm Update

It’s been awhile since I’ve done a book update around here because, honestly, I slowed down in the reading department for awhile. Too many distractions (that means you iPad!) and a busy holiday season put books on the back burner. But I’m back with my nose stuck in a book once again.

I finished Flying Through Midnight last week. It’s the story of a Vietnam pilot’s experience flying over Laos at the end of the war. If any of you know much about the history of the Vietnam war, you know that we were “not” flying over Laos during the war. The US government was quite clear about that. It was definitely not my typical kind of book but my dad had been telling me to read it for years so I figured I’d better get on it, and I’m glad I did. It really is an incredible story and I was at the edge of my seat for over 200 pages. If any of you are interested in the war, or enjoy adventure type books, check it out. It’s a fun read, as well as a history lesson in what we “weren’t” doing in Vietnam.

Last night I finished Moloka’i, a story about the leper colony in Hawaii at the turn of the 20th century. I loved this one. While it was certainly sad, how can a book about leprosy not be, it was a great story about an important piece of history that I had never even heard of. I think the author did an excellent job portraying the loss the residents of Moloka’i experienced while also telling the story of the community they gained because of their misfortune. If you don’t mind the depressing stuff that goes along with a story about leprosy, I would definitely recommend this one. It’s a great story filled with wonderful characters and interesting history.

Next up, I’m reading Tree of Smoke, another one about Vietnam, although this one is a commentary on the war and The Unbearable Lightness of Being (not going to lie, the title alone has me super excited for this one) about relationships and the Prague Spring in 1968.

Leave a Reply

