Good Memories, Not So Good Pictures

Being the photo/scrapbook nut that I am, days like today drive me a little nuts. Why you ask? Because I spend the day making great memories, but the lighting makes it darn near impossible for me to capture the moment in a decent way. It’s not the worst problem a girl could have, but what can I say? I am who I am. And the truth is, I do my best to make sure I enjoy the moment first, and worry about the pictures second. There are days that I get stuck behind the camera and feel like I really missed being present in the moment, so I’ve tried to learn from that. That means that sometimes I don’t get a lot of great pictures. And sometimes, especially at Christmas time when good, natural light is so elusive, the pictures just turn out frustrating. But in the end, I have pictures that I will treasure forever, even if they aren’t perfect.

Well, now that I got that little photographers rant off my chest, lets move on to our super awesome day with the family. We started our Christmas celebration out at the barn where Miss Lily was sweet enough to take everybody for a ride. I would like to take this moment to point out that she is pretty much the most amazing horse ever. I have never trusted a horse as much as I trust her and she’s only three! It may have something to do with her very lazy, Eyore approach to life. She was so great with everybody and let the kids pet her nose till they were sick of it. I could not have been prouder of my (big) kid!Havana and IDon’t even try to pretend that you aren’t jealous of my sexy carharts cause we’ll all know it’s a lie. That’s right, they’re amazing.Maia’s turn. Please ignore the fact that my horse is in dire need of a haircut and clipping. The clippers will be coming out next week and the mane is just staying out of control long for now because it’s actually laying flat unlike the crazy mohalk action we had this summer. You have no idea how much this is driving me nuts though. I think the main theme behind this post may be that I’m a BIT of a perfectionist sometimes…My nephew Austin, who has cerebral palsey. It was a really cool experience for him to ride by himself. I was extra proud of Lily for being so gentle with him. He had so much fun!My mother-in-law took Lily for a spin, but somehow Lily always found her way back to me… I’m sure it had nothing to do with the thought that she could be lazy and stand still by me and had everything to do with how much she loves me, right?My sister-in-law with little Alana.I think we did pretty good getting the girls these horses for Christmas, seeing as how Maia ran around yelling “This is awesome” after opening it. The girls and I peeling apples for the apple crisp. All three girls ended up helping, all lined up on chairs next to me. I’m bummed I didn’t get a picture of all of us, but like I said, it’s more important that I was making the memories than having the perfect picture of it. Color time! The girls drew me some great pictures that I’m going to put in my December Daily book.You know it’s time to go home when your niece is out cold by the door. I think this means we’re a lot of fun πŸ˜‰

So there you have it, day one of our five day Christmas extravaganza. Like I said, the pictures aren’t great but the memories are, and I am so happy to have the pictures that I do have to remember the day by. They may not be perfect (you may be noticing that I’m a bit of a perfectionist with my pictures…) but they preserve some great memories, and what more can you ask for?

One thought on “Good Memories, Not So Good Pictures

Leave a Reply

