The Christmas Crunch

It’s getting down to that time of year when things feel a bit like they are spinning out of control. We had a busy weekend and now a very busy week ahead of us filled with all kinds of Christmas fun. There’s lots to do and not a lot of time left to do it in. Here’s a peek at this weeks schedule:

Wed: Christmas at our house with Justin’s Grandma, Mom, sister and her 4 kids. We are pretty excited about the gifts we got the kids and have been anxiously awaiting the opening of them. It’s going to be a great night filled with play time and Justin’s famous chicken sandwiches. We’re also planning on taking the kids out to the barn to meet Lily which will be lots of fun for the girls who love horses.

Thurs: Justin and I are celebrating our Christmas. Our actual Christmas Eve and Christmas gets so hectic that there just isn’t time for us to open our presents for each other and spend any special time together so we picked a day to spend just us. Obviously we couldn’t hold out till after Christmas so it had to be before 😉 We are planning on going to the zoo, coming home and making beef stroganoff together, opening gifts (and playing with said gifts), then watching a Christmas movie. I am SOOO looking forward to this day.

Fri: I have my infusion in the morning and I’m bringing my doctor and nurses some homemade truffles for a little gift so that will be fun. Then it’s home to make appetizers for the next day, off to church for the Christmas service with the family, followed by a family trip to the movies to see We Bought a Zoo. So excited for this movie!!!! It’s going to be a super fun night with the fam, including my step-brother, his wife and their adorable little girl. We don’t get to see them nearly enough so I’m looking forward to spending the night with them.

Sat: We start Christmas Eve at Justin’s dad’s house with his dad and step-mom, two sisters, and our nieces and nephew. Lots of good food and family fun. Then we head back to our house for the night to celebrate with my mom and step-dad, and my sister and her fiance. It’s always a very full, but very fun day.

Sun: My dad comes to our house for breakfast then we all pile in the car and head to Albert Lea for Christmas with his side of the family. It’s a crazy loud houseful of family and I love it! This year will be a little quieter because two of my cousins live in Oklahoma so they trade off Christmas up here and this is their off year 😦 But we still have lots of fun hanging out and having everyone together under one roof.

So there you have it, the happy madness that is coming my way shortly. There’s lots to do beforehand. Clean the house, finish wrapping, make truffles, grocery shopping. It’s gonna get crazy up in here!!! But I really want to make sure that I enjoy every minute of it to the best of my ability. I always feel like Christmas flies by and I miss it. I’m going to do my best to not let that happen this year.

One thought on “The Christmas Crunch

Leave a Reply

