Memorials

First off, let me just gush about how totally amazing Vietnam in HD is. I watched all 6 hours of it over this past weekend and I wish there was more. Granted, I am a history lover and am particularly interested in Vietnam due to my dad serving in it so I am uniquely set up to love it. But seriously, it is amazing. The entire series is made up of home videos shot by the soldiers and archived footage so everything is real, no dramatic reenactments. It is both fascinating and heartbreaking. We are so used to watching violence in movies that we all become a bit numb to the images, but the images in this show are 100% real. The injured body, real. The dead soldier, real. Some of it was really hard to watch but for that reason alone, I think that we should watch. We need to remind ourselves the very real cost of war, that it’s not just a movie plot but real people sacrificing their lives. Ok, there’s my soapbox moment for the day. All this to say that my hours watching the History Channel got me motivated to share the pictures I took of the war memorials in D.C. last year. They were so beautiful and visiting them was definitely a highlight of our trip. Ok, this one’s not really a memorial but its a cool picture so I thought I’d share.Korean War MemorialVietnam MemorialThis one’s kind of blurry but I still love it.WWII Memorial. It should be noted that immediately after I snapped this picture, my camera plummeted off the railing, into the fountain below, which was followed by me yelling NO! NO! NO! as I ran down the ramp, around to the fountain, into the fountain, and then pulled myself up to the second tier of the fountain to retrieving my violently flashing, very much dying camera. (I am incredibly lucky there were no guards around. They take those memorials seriously and I’m pretty sure jumping in them is frowned upon. But, not a single person even looked at me while this was happening. Not one. I was climbing in a water fountain! This deserves some weird looks! I’m not sure what this says about society but I’m pretty sure it’s not good. Just sayin’) I then proceeded to sit on the side of the fountain and cry for a half an hour while J tried to console me by telling my I needed a new camera anyways (whata guy, huh?). Then we drove around Georgetown looking for a place with a photo kiosk so that I could check to see if my memory card had survived. Obviously it had, thank goodness, otherwise I may never had survived the sadness. So that’s how our night at the memorials ended. It was quite tragic, I assure you. But at least I got some good pictures out of it! And a funny story (now that I’ve had time to heal, I can call it a funny story).

So there you have it folks. And just because it’s one of my favorite pictures from our trip, I thought I’d share this one too.Don’t we look spiffy? That’s my going out shirt. I wear it pretty much every time we go out with friends downtown or whatever. I will be wearing it this weekend. I’m too practical to have more than one going out shirt. I have issues. That is all.

3 thoughts on “Memorials

  1. Great follow up post to your Veteran tribute. And, I couldn’t help but laugh while imagining you running and yelling no to your camera! I would’ve died! Something is seriously wrong if no one glanced up to check out the commotion lol. Guess I just have to drop mine to get a new one too then 😉

    • It was not my finest moment. But so funny in hindsight. Still can’t believe no one looked! Ha! I don’t know if it was the epitome of politeness or oblivion.

  2. Great follow up post to your Veteran tribute. And, I couldn’t help but laugh while imagining you running and yelling no to your camera! I would’ve died! Something is seriously wrong if no one glanced up to check out the commotion lol. Guess I just have to drop mine to get a new one too then

Leave a Reply

