Caring for the Caretakers

Yesterday I spent some time after my infusion chatting with a friend while she finished her chemo. She actually works at the cancer center and had scheduled us at the same time so we could hang out a bit. As we chatted, she mentioned that I was one of only two patients that she had told about her cancer because she feels like it is her job to care for her patients and if they know she is sick she won’t be able to do that as effectively. She is a caretaker by nature as well as by occupation which makes the transition to being cared for all the more difficult. She talked about the sympathy her patients need, the comfort that she provides them whenever she spends time with them, all the while chafing at being on the receiving end of that same comfort. It’s a hard transition. Yesterday I also brought in a cookie for my chemo nurse. I have the same one every time so we’ve gotten to know each other well and she is very involved in my care. I always know when my lab work looks bad simply by the look on her face because she truly cares about my health. When I gave her the cookie, she was so surprised and kept telling me how sweet it was. To me it was something so simple but it made me realize that she is so busy caring for others that she isn’t used to anyone caring for her at work. All of this got me thinking about the wonderful people who I share every other Friday afternoon with and the amazing care they give me, sometimes without me even noticing it. It is their job to not only draw my blood, hook me up to the infusion pump and make decisions about my health, but to also ask me about my week, bring me a warm blanket and worry about me. I want to do more to return that care so that they know how much I appreciate it. I doubt many recognize how much they do, especially since most of them are incredibly sick. Yesterday inspired me to show my caregivers just how much I care about them.

One thought on “Caring for the Caretakers

  1. ThanK you so much For your blog. My husband was diagnosed just after Halloween . Trick or treat right!? It’s nice to read your blog and feel less lonely in a disease that is so rare and so little is avalable (but thank God there is more becoming avalable!) . Your words of your journey mean so much! Everything from pnh life to realizing kids may not happen. I am thankful for the blessings of the lessons we have learned in only two months though! Our marriage has never been stronger;) it’s a funny thing to look at yourself , life, and complaints you had before your doctor gives you information that changes your life forever. A funny thing and a blessing. You will be in my prayers!

    This helps us – philippians 4:13
    Philippians 4:6-7 (this was emailed by a friend on our way to bone marrow biopsy (Good call!).

Leave a Reply

