Kicking Off a New Decade

Tomorrow I start my thirties, and since I will be too busy being spoiled by J cause that’s how we do it up around here, I thought I would share this today. Instead of being like a normal person and making new years resolutions, I am making 30 year resolutions for myself; goals that I want to achieve and changes I want to make in my life over the next year, to start my thirties off right. So here we go.

Creatively: I want to do a better job documenting the everyday. This has been something that I’ve always wanted to do but kept putting off till I had kids thinking it would make more sense then. Since that’s out, it is time to embrace what my real everyday is like. So, I am going to do the “Week in the Life” project and the “December Daily” project (both inspired by Ali Edwards). I also plan to seek out more challenges like the 30 day photo challenge that I just completed. They really do a great job of making you look at your daily life in a different way and get the camera working.

Personally: I want to be the embodiment of this verse. My goal for myself this year is to live everyday with this verse in my heart, defining who I am. This verse is the very definition of who I want to be and who I want others to see me as.

Spiritually: I want to read my bible everyday. My goal is to find a routine that really works for me so that this doesn’t get forgotten or pushed aside when things get busy. I also want to read at least one faith based book a month.

Physically: I need to do a better job of working out and eating well. I have done it before, I can do it again. And this time I need to do stick with it. I did a great job of cutting down on sugar and eating more veggies this summer but I lost my motivation and fell off the bandwagon. So, my goal is to go back to that, cut down on sugar, increase veggie and fruit intake, and make it permanent. I am going to seek out healthy recipes and try to find a way of holding myself more accountable to my eating goals. Another goal is to do yoga at least three times a week. I know thats not a lot but I thought I’d start with a more attainable goal and hopefully turn into an overachiever.

So that’s it, the start off of a new decade. Over the next month I will be working on finding ways to make these somewhat vague goals into more concrete changes in my life. They should make for a good start to what I hope will be a great decade!

4 thoughts on “Kicking Off a New Decade

Leave a Reply

