365 Days Later

365 days ago I felt like I was standing on the edge of a cliff, about to leap off into a new life. In a way, I was correct. It just wasn’t the life I was expecting.

365 days ago I had just started my “retirement.”

365 days ago I was preparing to start Soliris, with a confidence that my relatively asymptomatic disease would become even more asymptomatic, that my counts would be stable or improve, and that I would be healthier than ever.

365 days ago I was excited to start a family, and was filled with hope that a baby was just around the corner for us.

365 days ago I was ecstatic to take 6th place at Champ Show with Lily, but a little sad because I thought it was likely the end of me showing and riding her for awhile because of our baby plans.

The past 365 days have been filled with tears, but also with laughter and happiness. There have been struggles that I never anticipated, life changes that have been challenging to say the least. But the days have also been filled with learning that sometimes on the other side of struggle lies something that is just as good as what you had to let go of. They have been some of the hardest days of my life, but they have made me stronger, they have made me who I am today, and for that, they have been well worth it. 365 days later, I am changed and have been stretched farther than I knew possible, but I am still smiling, and that is all that matters.

Leave a Reply

