Confessions of a Bookworm

I love books. LOVE them. As in, I walk into Barnes & Noble and I instantly feel happier. Ever since I was a little girl I have loved losing myself in a book and can spend hours and hours transported far away by the words on the pages in front of me. I thank my mom for this. She read to me every night when I was little and I can still remember begging her to read just one more chapter of whatever book we were reading. I get most of the books I read at the library because, well, because they are free and is there anything better than free? But sometimes I treat myself to a new book and it is like coming home with a treasure. Truly, I have an unhealthy obsession with books. Now it can’t be just any old book though. As an English major (with a history minor, can you get any more bookwormish than that???) I am a complete literary snob. It’s true. I’m ok with it. As my favorite professor in college said, there are too many great books out there to waste your time reading junk. So true. When I was a kid, I read every horse book I could get my hands on (I was a TAD horse obsessed as well). Black Stallion, Saddle club, Thoroughbred, you name it. If it had horses in it, I was all over it. These days I prefer my books to take me to different times and places. I love learning about new cultures and experiencing history through a good novel. The best books are the ones that make you feel a little sad when you’re done because you’ve grown so attached to the characters that they’ve come to feel like old friends and you’re going to miss them. So, with all that being said, I plan to include little reviews of the books I am reading here, just in case anyone is interested πŸ™‚

Swamplandia is one of the most interesting books I’ve read in quite awhile. It was totally unlike anything I’ve ever read before which I loved! It’s the story of the disintegration of a family that runs an alligator wrestling show in the everglades after the mother dies of cancer. It is clever and dark but wonderful at the same time (disclaimer, I tend to like dark and depressing books. Just fair warning). I just found it so refreshing to read something in which I had no idea where it was going because it didn’t follow the same old rules that most books follow. And the descriptions of the swamps of the everglades were incredible. I definitely recommend this one! Fun might not be the right word for it but I can’t think of a better word to describe reading something so different.

And one more picture of reading, just because I love this picture and because the only thing that makes reading a good book better is reading it on a beach!

14 thoughts on “Confessions of a Bookworm

  1. Hi there
    Your comment about walking into a bookshop sounds so familar, so right! I get the same feeling, it calms me down and cheers me up to be enclosed by book-lined shelves when i’m having a bad day. I’m really glad to see you doing these reviews, Swamplandia sounds intriguing- I will definitely look it up. I am actually a science student who figured out what madness it was to think I could leave my bookworminess behind, so now here I am taking a year off before reapplying for English next year at university, so I will really be glad to see you pointing out new books to indulge myself with this year when i have the time to read and read and read.

    • I mistakenly tried the science route for a semester and quickly realized it was not for me! I LOVED life as an English major, all 1,000 pages of reading a week. I even loved writing papers. Yep, I’m a total nerd like that πŸ™‚

  2. I feel the same way about books/reading, although I’m far from being a literary snob. I will read just about anything if there’s something about it that appeals to me. Earlier this year the library moved to a new location across the street from my house and it was more exciting than if the circus came to town. You might enjoy BookCrossing.com (if you haven’t already heard of it)

  3. Jackie, I am a fellow PNH-er and am really enjoying reading your blog. Thanks. When I get the nerve and the energy, I will share mine. I am in the process of converting from blogpost to wordpress.

  4. I feel the same way about books, I just feel so at home in a bookstore. I’m currently experiencing an inner struggle with my nomadic self since I move around a lot and books take up so much space. E-readers would be ideal for my lifestyle, but I just love the feel of a book and how they line up so pretty on my shelves. Not to mention when someone comes to visit they are great conversation starters and really show all the facets of my personality.

    • I am so upset about Borders closing!!! It was my favorite! Going to dinner, Borders and a movie was one of my favorite dates with my hubs. I’m going to miss it so much 😦

  5. I lost my Barnes and Noble and Borders in the same month! They left one building empty and the other with a new drug store to add to the million other ones nearby. It is so depressing! And our library is closed 3 days a week and has so few books. This is in a suburb of Los Angeles!

  6. Love, love, love books as well. As a matter of fact, I’m currenlty reading 4 of them πŸ™‚ And you are right…reading while out in the sun is the absolute best!

Leave a Reply

