Why I’m Here

While Sex in the City 2 was admittedly an awful movie, the one thing that resonated with me was the storyline about Carrie and Big being a childless couple. The idea of it being “just us” is such a foreign concept in society today, something I’m realizing more and more everyday. Having kids is just what you do, and it is certainly what the world around you expects. It was what I expected for my own life as well. But after careful planning, when the time came to start a family I instead learned that I have a disease called Paroxysmal Nocturnal Hemoglobinuria, or PNH for all of us without medical degrees. It has changed my life in more ways than one, and certainly not the least of these is that it makes having a baby complicated, to put it mildly. And so for now, we are joining the seemingly miniscule number of childless couples in the world today. Adoption and foster care certainly remain on the table. And perhaps one day, that will be the perfect choice for us. Maybe things will become more stable with my health and I will gain the confidence that I can be the mother that I want to be and still remain as healthy as possible. But for now, it’s going to be “just us.” And I’m ok with that, at least right now. Certainly some days are harder than others but I have a wonderful life with an amazing husband that is filled with more blessings than I can count. So, I decided to start this little blog to tell the story of a childless couple whose life is sometimes interrupted by a disease since there are so few stories like this out there and it can feel lonely. I hope that others like me can find this and know that they are not alone. That there are others out there living wonderful lives without children, whether by choice or not. That there are scrapbookers out there who manage to fill scrapbooks with layouts of subjects other than their children. I hope that if you are that person, this finds you and helps you. And if that isn’t you but you find your way here, I hope you enjoy it anyways. And now I leave you with photos of my four legged children.

Lily

Maggie the Mighty Mouse Hunter

Paris and Maggie

6 thoughts on “Why I’m Here

  1. Hello. I’m glad you are here and I’m looking forward to reading more. I am still enjoying the single life, but I am pretty positive that I don’t want to have children (the prospect of finding a man that also doesn’t want them is a bit scary…and you may have just inspired my next blog post). I don’t think that motherhood is the life for me for many reasons. In my hypothetical scrapbook, it would be filled with pictures of the places I’ll travel and perhaps children…but children of the countries of the world and not my own. 🙂

  2. Ficklefolly-Thanks so much for joining me! It’s nice to know there are other people out there that don’t have children and can see a future without them! And I am totally with you on traveling! Definitely one of the benefits of not having kids is more freedom to roam the world. I look forward to following your journey as well.

  3. It made my heart happy to find your blog. I love photography and scrapbooking and like you have found much sastifaction in scrapping photos/memorabilia other than of children. I also have my own family of four-leggers – three cats, five dogs. Much success on your blog!

    • Thank you so much! I can’t wait to check your blog out too! Most days I feel like there’s nobody out there other than me scrapbooking things other than kids. Nice to know that I’m not 🙂

Leave a Reply

